Log in

Established in 1974, the North Carolina Association for Research in Education (NCARE) works to improve the quality of education in North Carolina through research and evaluation.

NCARE members include teachers, principals, school system administrators, university faculty and staff, graduate students, staff of the Department of Public Instruction, members of local education agencies, and people working in private research organizations.  NCARE activities are implemented through its elected officers and board of directors.

2022 - 2023 NCARE  Officers & Board of Directors

President: Dr. Monica E. Allen

N.C. A&T State University

President-Elect: Mr. David Lynn Doctoral Student- UNC Charlotte

Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. Judy Penny 

Retired-Guilford County Schools

Higher Education Representative: 

Dr. Diana Betts

Gardner-Webb University

K-12 Representative

Ms. Sonya Wagstaff

Guilford County Schools

NC DPI Representative: 

Dr. Thakur Karkee

Graduate Student Representative:

Ms. Shanta Lightfoot

Doctoral Student

At-Large Representative:

Dr. Stella Kim

UNC Charlotte

At-Large Representative:

Mrs. Gwynne Shoaf

Doctoral Candidate- Appalachian State University

At-Large Representative:

Dr. Sharon Lassiter

Guilford County Schools


Dr. Tempestt Adams

Appalachian State University

NCARE is an affiliate member of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) through the Consortium of State and Regional Educational Research Associations (SRERA).

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software